Jean-René Mourot - piano  -  Bruno Tocanne - Drums

This record is the story of a meeting that owes nothing to chance, as its protagonists - two artists in love with light and with the same need for freedom - were to end up finding themselves one fine day in the communion of their impressionisms.

Fascinated by the sensuality of the Duets of Bill Carrothers and Bill Stewart at the end of the 90s, the pianist Jean-René Mourot dreamed of the intimacy of such a conversation, and in doing so of the melodist drummer who would know how to help him lend him life. Who better than Bruno Tocanne, a musician of attention to others, experienced in the practice of the piano drums duo and a past master in the art of suggestion, could meet such a strong expectation? A few exchanges, like a photographic focus, were enough for them to agree on a common language - a subtle grammar associating spontaneity and elliptical improvisation - before taking action some time later. And it is in the intimacy of a studio dressed in cubic lamps, discreet witnesses of a dialogue captured as close as possible to the emotions, that they will give birth to the eight sound bursts of these Chronicles of the imagination.

It is a privilege to discover in its truth of the moment a fresco with diaphanous motifs which never deviates from the path of melody; this disc is the song of two resonating souls, celebrating with covered words a beauty constantly to be rediscovered. Jean-René Mourot and Bruno Tocanne write a page of modest life, without ostentation or virtuoso demonstration… They do not impose themselves on each other, preferring to open the doors of a reciprocal enchantment. The pianist plays with time that he can suspend for a fraction of a second - or eternity - to better release notes whose harmonic fluidity finds a twin echo in the drummer's graceful and restrained strike. Both express their vision of an elegiac world, where elevation has taken precedence once and for all over the need for affirmation. We quickly understand that the dreams of these two tightrope walkers have become our own. Denis desassis

Jean-René Mourot - piano  -  Bruno Tocanne - Drums

Ce disque est l’histoire d’une rencontre qui ne doit rien au hasard, tant ses protagonistes – deux artistes épris de lumière et du même besoin de liberté – devaient finir par se trouver un beau jour dans la communion de leurs impressionnismes.

Fasciné par la sensualité des Duets de Bill Carrothers et Bill Stewart à la fin des années 90, le pianiste Jean-René Mourot rêvait de l’intimité d’une telle conversation, et ce faisant du batteur mélodiste qui saurait l’aider à lui prêter vie. Qui mieux que Bruno Tocanne, musicien de l’attention aux autres, rompu à l’exercice du duo piano batterie et passé maître dans l’art de la suggestion, pouvait répondre à une attente aussi forte ? Quelques échanges, à la manière d’une mise au point photographique, leur auront suffi pour s’accorder sur un langage commun – une grammaire subtile associant spontanéité et improvisation elliptique – avant de passer à l’action quelque temps plus tard. Et c’est dans l’intimité d’un studio habillé de lampes cubiques, discrets témoins d’un dialogue capté au plus près des émotions, qu’ils donneront naissance aux huit éclats sonores de ces Chroniques de l’imaginaire. 

C’est un privilège que de découvrir dans sa vérité de l’instant une fresque aux motifs diaphanes qui jamais ne s’écarte du chemin de la mélodie ; ce disque est le chant de deux âmes en résonance, célébrant à mots couverts une beauté sans cesse à redécouvrir. Jean-René Mourot et Bruno Tocanne écrivent une page de vie pudique, sans ostentation ni démonstration virtuose… Ils ne s’imposent pas l’un à l’autre, préférant entrouvrir les portes d’un enchantement réciproque. Le pianiste se joue du temps qu’il peut suspendre durant une fraction de seconde – ou d’éternité – pour mieux libérer des notes dont la fluidité harmonique trouve un écho gémellaire dans la frappe gracile et retenue du batteur. Tous deux expriment leur vision d’un monde élégiaque, où l’élévation a pris le pas une fois pour toutes sur le besoin d’affirmation. On comprend alors très vite que les rêves de ces deux funambules sont devenus les nôtres. Denis Desassis